top of page

Book Club: April 2024

Updated: 5 days ago


On April 4th, 2024, the Icelandic Roots Book Club will welcome Martha Brooks who will talk to us about her first book for adults, Dear Miss Lovelorn: Prose and Possibility, published in July 2023.

The novel takes us back to 1947 where we find 22-year-old Signy Jonasson who has been in a tuberculosis sanatorium in rural Canada for nine years with little hope of recovery. She befriends a visiting journalist and an unlikely bedside courtship blossoms.

 

“Dear Miss Lovelorn: Prose and Possibility, told through a series of letters and diary entries, celebrates the miracle of unexpected connections and the equally miraculous world of words.”

 



Martha is a three-time winner of the

Author: Martha Brooks
Author: Martha Brooks

Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book of the Year Award, and has received the Ruth Schwartz Award, the Mr. Christie’s Book Award, the Governor General’s award, and the Vicky Metcalf Award for her body of work.

 

Dear Miss Lovelorn Prose & Possibility by Martha Brooks

 

The Link will be provided in members' email the day before Book Club.

 

The meeting time is:

  • 5:00 PM Pacific

  • 6:00 PM Mountain

  • 7:00 PM Central

  • 8:00 PM Eastern

  • 12:00 AM in Iceland (April 5th)

Comentarios


Email us your questions or join the conversation on our Facebook Group.

bottom of page