Manitoba's Link to Icelandic Heritage

The Southeast & Winnipeg Branch of the Manitoba Genealogical Society is offering an educational program on Monday, April 25th. All are welcome to attend. Please share this message with others who may be interested.


Title: Manitoba’s Link to Icelandic Heritage and Using the Icelandic Roots Genealogy Database


Presented by: Sunna Olafson Furstenau, Icelandic Roots President


Join us for this webinar filled with photos, stories, maps, and more as we learn about the Icelandic people who came to Manitoba. Learn about their Viking history, old Icelandic Sagas, and even J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, too. You will learn about the struggles and triumphs they faced in the settlement period of Iceland and during the settlement of Manitoba. The webinar will include photos and information about the people, places, famous Icelandic settlers, and some famous Manitoba Icelanders of today.


You will receive many links within the webinar for tips to research Icelandic genealogy as well as places to learn more. So have a pen and paper ready to go!


Sunna will also give us a peek inside the workings of their unique, online, academic genealogical website. It is an interactive, vibrant, and ever-expanding site because of the team of expert Icelandic genealogists and the IT team. These volunteers live across Canada, Iceland, and the United States and all work together to preserve, promote and educate others about this important history.


This session will take place on April 25, 2022, via Zoom to all MGS members who hold a Southeast and Winnipeg Branch membership. Non-members can attend for a nominal fee of $10 and can be purchased through Eventbrite.


5:00 PM Pacific

6:00 PM Mountain

7:00 PM Central

8:00 PM Eastern


Purchase TICKETS HERE.


For more information on the MGS and to join as a member, see their WEBSITE.

Email us your questions or join the conversation on our Facebook Group.